Family God Moments

Our Family’s Journey to Find God in the Everyday

SERVICE? Nah… I’m too busy

1 Comment

In the same week I lamented about how our church had no opportunities for families to serve the community – and then identified “inaction” as a one of our church’s negative values. By inaction, I meant that people identify and complain about our church not having a program they want, but make no efforts to get said program started.

Ummm… thinking about some old saying about a pot and a kettle?!?

Lack of time has been my excuse, but I do both enjoy and understand the importance of service opportunities with my family. What a wonderful way to instill critical values for my kids! Plus I personally need that reminder that the world and its problems are so much bigger than the little problems in my own life!!

There are so many opportunities to serve others. Some are grand projects – like building a house with Habitat for Humanity or taking a mission trip. Others projects are much smaller – like showing kindness to a stranger. My friend Renae says that her “secret” is to always live with an attitude of service; to constantly serve God and serve others.

I love that Renae can exemplify this service “lifestyle” – but it shouldn’t be a secret for so many of us. It was laid out pretty clearly in scripture.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus…   Philippians 2:3-5

And this one…

For the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.   Mark 10:45

I’m sure I could come up with many more examples if I kept looking.

Gods Work Our Hands
I recall one particularly enjoyable opportunity of service last fall. My family picked up trash along a trail, and it was great. It was something all four of us could participate in. We were outdoors on a beautiful fall day. We were together and we were serving God by serving our community. What is stopping me from doing something simple like this each week with my family?

My friend Dan is starting a ministry to pick up trash; to take care of the space God gave us. I applaud him for taking the initiative and the time to start a service ministry – and I hope his servant attitude is contagious. As we like to joke – the goal is that every time we see trash we’ll think of Dan (and then pick up the trash, of course).

I will continue to strive for this servant attitude – for myself and for my kids. I will follow the examples of my friends Renae and Dan, and I’ll follow Jesus – the ultimate example of humble servant to all.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

One thought on “SERVICE? Nah… I’m too busy

  1. Great stuff Brooke!

    Like

Leave a Reply

