Family God Moments

Our Family’s Journey to Find God in the Everyday

My feeble attempt to describe a God moment with my daughter

Leave a comment

There are times in life where words will not fully explain the experience. But I have to try to write this one down – to remember at least to some degree what I felt in a certain moment – a quick blink in this thing we call life. Let me try to set the scene for you.

I was sitting outside on a blanket under a blue sky; a gentle, warm breeze against my skin. I sat on this blanket with my 2-year-old daughter. We weren’t  doing anything in particular; we were just together. There were no sounds except the rustle of the leaves above and the peaceful chirps of birds in the distance. I could smell on my young daughter the scent of outside and sunscreen. I could feel her steady, rhythmic heart beating under my palm hugging her little body close to mine. I could see her soft hair forming ringlets of curls around her face from the warmth of being outside.

It was a short moment. (My 2-year-old does not sit still for long.) But it was perfect. (Is there a word stronger than perfect??)

Sometimes in the wonderfully simple moments of utter peace and unexplainable joy I struggle to define how God is present. (I remember the family night we had in Finding God in Footie Pajamas.) Yes – I know God was there with my daughter and I on that blanket that day – God is with us all the time, right? But how, why? How did I feel God’s presence so much more in that moment?

Because the wonder found in a moment like that comes from love, and God is love.

And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them.  1 John 4:16

And Jesus commanded us to love one another as he loves us:

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”  John 13:34-35

Love is a gift from God, and when we love we experience God, we are able to know God, in a deeper way. I thank God for these little moments with my kids when I can experience this deep love with all of my being, and attempt to understand just a little bit more my God’s incomprehensible power and love.

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

