Family God Moments

Our Family’s Journey to Find God in the Everyday

Singing and dancing our way through faith

Leave a comment

Our family loves music. We love to sing it, we love to listen to it! We sing at each other across the house, making up silly verses. We ride around in our minivan and sing loudly together to whatever is on the radio. We are THAT family. (Don’t worry – no fanny packs or dorky visors are involved!)

The kids went to vacation bible school this summer and we’ve been singing along to the CD ever since. As tired as I get of hearing this music over and over and over again, it fills my heart with joy to hear my 3-year-old belt out: ”My God is powerful…I will hold onto Him!”

 

My son and I went to a concert last week – For King and Country started the show. I’ve seen them perform before and they put on a fantastic show – high energy, full of the Spirit, encouraging, inspirational. But I think what made this concert so powerful was watching my son’s face light up when they sang a song he knew, then singing along with him arm in arm:

“My help comes from You, You’re right here pulling me through…You carry my weakness, my sickness, my brokenness all on Your shoulders…”

 

When I found my seat in church this morning, my mind was so very distracted by the big to do list at home, and the uncertainty of a broken shower that wouldn’t turn off. My poor husband (not a plumber) was at home attempting to deal with the problem. (He fixed it by the way – thanks internet for tutorial videos on everything!)

My mind, my heart was not ready to worship. But the opening music pulled me in, and reminded me why I was there.

Music is a powerful tool in my faith live; music is Worship, music is Prayer, music is Encouragement. A song that you’ve heard a hundred times can speak to you at the moment you most need it. God works through music!

I am so happy to see music work in my kids’ life. It allows them to connect with God in their own way. For a child – and probably some adults – singing a song about God’s love sinks deeper than hearing the same words in a sermon! Music pulls us together as a family on a faith journey together!

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth;
   break forth into joyous song and sing praises!
Sing praises to the Lord with the lyre,
   with the lyre and the sound of melody!
With trumpets and the sound of the horn
   make a joyful noise before the King, the Lord!
Psalm 98:4-6

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

