Family God Moments

Our Family’s Journey to Find God in the Everyday

Facing a new year

2 Comments

We are three days into 2016 and I find myself very reflective on this new year. We crossed into 2016 quietly with family. I did not feel like celebrating; but I also did not feel sad or remorseful about saying goodbye to the year now behind us. I did not feel fear considering the uncertainty in the new year ahead of us. I have simply felt reflective. It is surreal to me just how quickly this life is speeding by.

Life moves fast – especially true when there are kids around. I’ll catch myself every so often staring at my son and daughter; wondering how exactly they have become so big. When did that happen, and what have I missed along the way?

Due to a late arrival at church this morning, we had prime seating right up front. This allowed me to people watch during communion! People lined up and and waited their turn to approach the altar and receive the wine and bread; to hear that this is a gift just for them. To each person the same words – the body of Christ, the blood of Christ – for you!

Watching the sacrament distributed to friends and strangers alike, I wondered what those words meant to each person in this community of believers. Did those words hit home on this day? How did they face this new year? Are they sad that a part of their life is gone? Do they head into 2016 filled with dread of what is to come? Do they pray desperately that this new year will be better than the last?

And do they know the one constant?  Do they grasp that no matter the sadness or joy they experience or the speed of life they encounter, God is present? God is within each moment – those behind and before us.

Have I fully grasped that? Do I live it each day? If yes, then I should face the new year with joy and celebration! I should rejoice in the opportunity to find God at work in this fast-paced world, and be thankful for times of reflection – opportunities to see God present in my family every day!

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.       Jeremiah 29:11-13

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

2 thoughts on “Facing a new year

  1. Wishing you a Happy and God-present New Year, Brooke!

    Like

Leave a Reply

