Family God Moments

Our Family’s Journey to Find God in the Everyday

Here we go… another new year!

Leave a comment

The new year has arrived! Each year I become more amazed at how quickly time moves.

ferrisbueller3This weekend was my last chance to “live” before the overtime nightmare that is year-end accounting begins. Family was in town. We had plans for fun, games, a nice dinner out, time to celebrate a new year. Yet on Saturday morning, I sat in my dark living room buried under blankets watching Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I was struck by the last line of the movie:

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

So why, exactly, on my last weekend of freedom did I sit at home and watch a classic 1980’s movie? Why was I not out gallivanting with the rest of my family? Because I was sick. That ‘awake all night, hacking cough and searing chest pain’ kind of sick. I don’t get sick very often – and I really don’t like it. Being sick means I give up control. Being sick means plans do not go as scheduled!

For a moment, I felt sorry for myself as I thought about the fun family weekend I would miss while sitting in misery on my couch.  But I must admit – that line from Ferris Bueller helped me out! (Thanks John Hughes!) I did miss time with my family – but there was really nothing I could do about it. What I got in return in this fast paced world was time for me. Time to watch old movies; time to write and reflect and sit in silence.

And time to begin a new activity for 2017! I received this book from my mother-in-law for Christmas… “Color the Psalms” – a 2017 weekly planner with different verses from the book of Psalms.

img_2594

The first page I had the opportunity to color – Psalm 16, verse 11:

“You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

What wonderful words to reflect upon as we begin the new year – no matter how sick or healthy I feel! Plus, how appropriate to pair Psalms with a weekly planner! The Psalms allow for time to pause; to reflect upon God’s presence amidst this fast moving, busy life that I attempt – and often fail – to plan to “perfection.”

Before my sick day, I was unsure what to write for this week’s post – it’s a new year , and I wanted something good. I’m bummed it took getting sick to pause my life, but truly thankful for the gift of time, and thankful for centering words of scripture. I will start to feel better – hopefully soon. Life will move forward – very quickly. No matter what I face or how busy life becomes, guiding words of scripture and the presence of God remain constant. What a blessing! Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

