Family God Moments

Our Family’s Journey to Find God in the Everyday

Following the true light

Leave a comment

I came across a quote somewhere this week. I wish I could remember where so I could give the author proper credit. Basically, this quote said that having the label of Christian does not indicate that the person is or even intends to be concerned about the well being of others. Yikes – harsh!! Yet, alarmingly, too often a true statement of what we encounter in the world…

This statement is convicting, as a person of faith and a believer immersed in American culture. I declare myself to be a follower of Christ – a Christian – but I fail every day to be concerned about the well being of others. As a Christian, do I make decisions about how to live in this world to earn God’s favor or to make God love me more? If so, I fear my actions are woefully inadequate. I’ve done nothing to warrant a gold star from God.

God through the cross has experienced the pain and suffering of the world. God suffers with us, is involved in the problems of humanity, interested in our worldly lives, empathetic to our suffering, and above all able to love the least of us. Interestingly, these are the things we as followers of Christ are called to do! Through faith, we are drawn to God’s loving solidarity with the world, compelled and free to do good works and participate in the creative and redemptive acts of God. The Christian church is invited to participate in this relationship between God and the world. I respond through action because I GET to be God’s love in the world.

There is no end to the opportunities to be God’s love, hope and healing in the world. Sometimes this means we exhibit humility. My 6-year-old is feisty and independent, and often speaks or acts without thinking. Sometimes her words or behavior hurt someone else – we’re all at fault for that, right? But my daughter is so quick to apologize and seek forgiveness. Within moments after a disagreement, she will set aside her own pride and apologize, to show love and healing and repair the relationship.

Sometimes, showing God’s love, hope and healing means we go against authority or social norms.

I read this week about two Christian men who defied authority and social standards and stood up for the oppressed, for the justice of all people. Dietrich Bonhoeffer was a German pastor, theologian and anti-Nazi establishment. Martin Luther King Jr. was a minister and activist who led the civil rights movements through nonviolent resistance. Bonhoeffer and King both lost their lives to stand up for justice. The fought against the authoritative position of other Christians to follow God to a place of peace and justice. They followed to their own death.

Following means we love the oppressed despite whatever social norms try to guide our behavior. We are to constantly look outside expectations, consider how Christ would respond to this human condition, and act accordingly. It can be hard and scary to deviate from social norms and choose a path of love. We do not encounter this challenging task alone:

If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.  Romans 8:11

I pray that the Spirit might move through me more freely, to be part of God’s creation. Not because I want to bump up my ranking in the list of “Top Jesus Followers” but because the need exists in our world. Jesus came as a Light in the darkness. Through the Spirit, we are empowered to be God’s light. What a reason for hope!

Leave a comment